Atletico Madrid crowned Champions of Spain, win La Liga title after 7 years


Atletico Madrid have been crowned Champions of Spain after they came from behind to beat Real Valladolid 2-1. They ended the season with 86 points in 38 matches, winning their 11th La Liga title after 7 years.

Before the last day of the league, Atletico and arch-rivals Real Madrid were only two points apart on the table. To make sure they won the title, Atletico Madrid needed to beat Valladolid away. The hosts were desperate to avoid relegation, so they started the game on a high, scoring after 18 minutes.

Meanwhile in Madrid, Real went down as well in the 20th minute in their game against Villarreal, which started at the same time as Atletico’s. The second half in both games was going to decide where the La Liga trophy was going.

Atletico knew victory against Valladolid would guarantee them the title regardless of what Real Madrid did at home to Villarreal but it was anything but comfortable.

Returning to the pitch for the second half, with a much clear mind after a motivational speech from manager Diego Simeone. Angel Correa, scored the equalizer in the 57th min. While Luis Suarez scored the winner just 10 minutes after him and sealed Atletico’s win.

When the final whistle blew, the players ran onto the pitch, Suarez underneath a pile of red and white shirts. With Europe’s most nerve-wracking and unpredictable title race finally complete. 

Real Madrid also won their game 2-1 against Villarreal, scoring in the 87th and 90th minutes. But the verdict had already been given, and they would go trophyless this season.

With this last win of the season, Atletico Madrid won the La Liga title for the 11th time after 7 years. They finished at the top of the league table with two points ahead of former Champions Real Madrid.

Key Factors from Atletico Madrid’s 11th La Liga Title

This is only the second time in 17 years that a team other than Barcelona or Real Madrid has won the title. The first time it was also Diego Simeone’s men who won their 10th league title in the 2013/14 season.

Atletico went into the game having been top since December, but they have done nothing the easy way this season. With their 10-point lead in February cut to two in May and relying on numerous slip-ups from both Real Madrid and Barcelona to stay at the top of the league table.

Atletico Madrid deserved to win the league in the end. But they did so by registering the fewest points for a winning team since 2007/08, with 86 points. Simeone and his men will care little though.

In one of the most controversial deals of last summer, Luis Suarez joined Atletico Madrid from Barcelona after enjoying a stellar spell at the Catalan club.

There were doubts as to whether Suarez could perform at the highest level at his age. But Suarez has shown that he still has a lot to offer. He was Atletico Madrid’s talisman this season, scoring 21 goals in 32 league games. It’s his fifth La Liga title win in his career.

Lastly, Atletico’s Stopper, Jan Oblak has been a constant in the Atletico Madrid starting XI since his arrival from Benfica in 2014.

Arguably the greatest goalkeeper in the world right now, making 38 appearances in the league with only conceding 25 goals. He has been incredible between the sticks once again. He also won the Ricardo Zamora trophy for the fifth time.

To Top