Calcutta Football League groups have been announced for the 2021-22 season.


For the next Calcutta Football League (CFL) 2021-22 season, the Indian Football Association (IFA) has established two groups. Each of the 14 clubs has been split into 2 groups of seven players. East Bengal, whose membership in the CFL had been questioned, is also included in the categories.

The league will most likely start in the last week of August and last until the end of October. Bhawanipore Club, Mohammedan SC, Southern Samity, BSS Sporting Club, Railways FC, and United Sports Club are all in Group 1. ATK Mohun Bagan is a member in Group 2.

Calcutta Football League groups have been announced for the 2021-22 season.

Format of Calcutta Football league

Each team has to play one another in each group, with only the top three teams qualifying to the quarterfinals. The final two quarterfinal slots will be decided by the remaining four teams in each group. The knockout phases will be contested by all eight qualified teams to determine the winners.

Only three foreign players are allowed in the roster, with no more than two international players in the starting XI. There will be no relegation in the Calcutta Football League this season due to the continuing COVID-19 outbreak. The last two teams to be promoted to the Premier Division were United SC and Railways FC.

East Bengal is engaged in a legal battle with its investors, Shree Cements, over the final term agreement. They are, nevertheless, one of the 14 teams selected for the upcoming CFL season. Meanwhile, ATKMB will compete in the CFL with their reserve team.

Do follow us on Twitter to get the latest news and updates on Indian Football.

To Top