Coach Des Buckingham names an all-Indian squad for the Super Cup, and Rahul Bheke will lead the Islanders

Mumbai City FC vs Al Ain FC

With the 2023 Hero Super Cup fast approaching, Mumbai City has named an all-Indian 24-man squad for the cup game.

Des Buckingham, the head coach, has appointed Rahul Bheke as captain ahead of the competition. Moreover, he will lead a side that includes a strong domestic unit. This further has been the heart of Mumbai City in recent years.

Moreover the Islanders’ Super Cup lineup will be a good mix of seasoned players and young talent. Rahul Bheke, Bipin Singh, Mehtab Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, and Phurba Lachenpa were recently called up to the Indian National Team following a successful season in the Indian Super League, where they won the League Shield, and will be eager to continue their momentum in the Super Cup.

The Islanders’ lineup also includes budding players like as Apuia Ralte, Vignesh Dakshinamurthy, Vikram Partap Singh, and Sanjeev Stalin, who, despite their youth, have become important members of Des Buckingham’s Mumbai City setup.

As part of our commitment to developing Indian talent, some of the Islanders’ brightest young talents, including Gyamar Nikum, Halen Nongtdu, Ayush Chhikara, and Gurkirat Singh, will have the opportunity to gain competitive experience and exposure as they prepare to face India’s top clubs in the domestic cup competition.

Mumbai City FC, Chennaiyin FC, and NorthEast United have been selected to Group D. And with either Real Kashmir or Churchill Brothers poised to earn the last berth. The Islanders will begin their Super Cup campaign on April 11 against either Real Kashmir or Churchill Brothers at the Payyanad Stadium in Manjeri, Kerala, with the game scheduled to begin at 5.00 p.m. IST.


Phurba Lachenpa, Muhammad Nawaz, Bhaskar Roy, and Ahan Prakash are the goalkeepers.

Amey Ranawade, Mehtab Singh, Sanjeev Stalin, Mandar Rao Dessai, Vignesh Dakshinamurthy, Gursimrat Singh Gill, Halen Nongtdu, and Hardik Bhatt are the defenders.

Rowllin Borges, Vinit Rai, Asif Khan, PC Rohlupuia, and Apuia Ralte are the midfielders.

Vikram Partap Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Gurkirat Singh, Bipin Singh, Ayush Chhikara, and Gyamar Nikum are the forwards.


MCFC vs. Real Kashmir/Churchill Brothers | April 15 | 5:00 p.m. | Payyanad Stadium, Manjeri

NorthEast United vs. MCFC | April 15 | 8:30 p.m. | Payyanad Stadium, Manjeri

MCFC vs. Chennaiyin FC | April 19 | 8:30 PM | Payyanad Stadium, Manjeri

Follow our Twitter Handle for more updates.

Read More :- The list of award winners for the Hero I-League 2022-23 season

To Top