Hero Super Cup 2023: Group D Preview, Squad and Fixtures

About Football Express India - Indian Super League - I-League

Group D, Four qualifying teams further will now join the remaining 12 teams in the main competition. Moreover , the 16 teams are now separated into four groups, with only the club finishing first in the standings after three games progressing to the tournament semifinals.

However, Cup events with a group and knockout round structure usually have that one group where it’s tough to forecast which clubs will win. Moreover Group D in the Hero Super Cup 2023 is shaping out to be the Group of Death.

Group D Preview

The current Hero Indian Super League (ISL) League Shield Winners, a club that was eventually beaten finalists in the 2019 Super Cup, and two teams that are ready to go all guns blazing to gain a fourth match in the competition comprise Group D at Hero Super Cup 2023.

Moreover, Mumbai City FC, who won the League Shield this season, will now look to add the Super Cup to their trophy collection. However, in their first game, Chennaiyin FC will face NorthEast United FC in their quest for a long-awaited Super Cup triumph.

The Highlanders, on the other hand, will attempt to rebound after a poor season in the Hero ISL. However, Churchill Brothers will try to make their Hero I-League efforts count in the group stages after a valiant showing in the qualification round.

Read More :- Group C: Preview

Group D Squads

Mumbai City FC

Goalkeepers: Phurba Lachenpa, Mohammad Nawaz, Bhaskar Roy, Ahan Prakash

Defenders: Rahul Bheke (captain), Amey Ranawade, Mehtab Singh, Sanjeev Stalin, Mandar Rao Dessai, Vignesh Dakshinamurthy, Gursimrat Singh Gill, Halen Nongtdu, Hardik Bhatt

Midfielders: Rowllin Borges, Vinit Rai, Asif Khan, PC Rohlupuia, Apuia Ralte

Forwards: Vikram Partap Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Gurkirat Singh, Bipin Singh, Ayush Chhikara, Gyamar Nikum

Head coach Des Buckingham

Churchill Brothers

Nora Fernandes, Joseph Clement, Zacharie Mbenda, Lamgoulen Gou Hangshing, Lalremruata HP, Kingslee Fernandes, Richard Costa, Anil Goankar, Anusumana Kromah, Martin Chaves, Sardor Jahonov, Ghanefo Ansumana-Kromah, Aaron Agnelo-Bareto, Sardar Jakhonov, Gautam Dias

Head coach: Mateus Costa

NorthEast United FC: 

Nikhil Dekha, Arindam Bhattacharja, Mirshad Kottappunna,  Tondonba Singh, Gurjinder Kumar, Mashoor Shereef, Gaurav Bora, Joe Zoherliana, Hira Mondal, Alex Saji, Alisher Kholmurodov, Rochharzela, Imran Khan, Romain Philippoteaux, Emil Benny, Mohammed Irshad, Jithin MS, Gani Nigam, Sehnaj Singh, Emanuel L, Pragyan Gogoi, Joseph Beitia, Laldanmawia Ralte, Wilmar Jordan, Parthib Gogoi, Dipu Mirhda

.Head coach: Floyd Pinto

Chennaiyin FC

Goalkeepers: Debjit Majumder, Samik Mitra, Devansh Dabas

Defenders: Narayan Das, Aakash Sangwan, Vafa Hakhamaneshi, Fallou Diagne, Gurmukh Singh, Md. Sajid Dhot, Ajith Kumar, Monotosh Chakladar, Bikash Yumnam

Midfielders: Nasser El Khayati, Jiteshwor Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Edwin Vanspaul, Julius Duker, Sajal Bag, Mohammed Rafique, Givson Singh

Forwards: Ninthoi Meetei, Vincy Barretto, Rahim Ali, Petar Sliskovic, Kwame Karikari, Prasanth Karuthadathkuni, Jockson Dhas, Senthamil S.

Head coach:  Thomas Brdaric

 Group D schedule, results and scores

All the Group B games will be played in the Payyanad Stadium, Manjeri

April 11, Tuesday

Mumbai City FC 2-1 Churchill Brothers

(Scorers: MCFC – Mehtab Singh 26′, Lallianzuala Chhangte 90+4′; CB – Ansumana Kromah 8′)

Chennaiyin FC 4-2 NorthEast United FC

(Scorers: CFC – Rahim Ali 17′, 82′, Edwin Sydney 33′, Julius Duker 50′; NEUFC – Rochharzela 43′, Laldanmawia Ralte 90+3′)

April 15, Saturday

Churchill Brothers vs Chennaiyin FC – 5:00 PM IST

NorthEast FC vs Mumbai City FC – 8:30 PM IST

April 19, Wednesday

NorthEast United FC vs Churchill Brothers – 5:00 PM IST

Mumbai City FC vs Chennaiyin FC – 8:30 PM IST

Follow our Twitter Handle for more updates.

To Top