La Liga Matchday 38- Review


The La Liga season ends with great a climax on matchday 38. Atletico Madrid went on to win against Real Valladolid and lift the La Liga title. While Real Madrid also won against Villareal but fell two points to be the consecutive champions.

Atletico Madrid went to win a thriller at their last match of this season. They pipped city rivals Real Madrid to the La Liga title on Saturday after Luis Suarez fired them to a 2-1 comeback win at Real Valladolid.

As the game started Valladolid was seen being very confident. They were battling hard to stay out of the relegation zone. They took an early lead in the 18th minute when Oscar Plano slotted past Jan Oblak. After the goal, Atletico pushed hard for an equalizer in the first half, but they couldn’t get past Valladolid.

In the second half, it was the opposite as Atletico took over the pace of the game. They missed a series of clear opportunities.  But they drew level after Angel Correa shotted the ball at the bottom corner of the goal at the 57th minute.

And just as they had done in last week’s comeback win over Osasuna, they found the back of the net and went to lead 10 minutes later. It was again the former Barcelona striker Luis Suarez who turned out to be the matchwinner on the night.

He scored with his weaker foot for what turned out to be a priceless Atletico Madrid goal. With the winner from Suarez, the game finished 2-1 and Atletico were crowned champions after 7 years.

Real Madrid fell short to win the league title

While Real Madrid also produced a late winner against Villareal but it was all in vain. They did all they could on the final day of the season as their game against Villarreal ended in a 2-1 victory. But it was not enough to win the league as Atletico Madrid won their game.

The game started with high hopes as both the teams were looking confident in the pitch with frequent attacks. But it was Villarreal who got into the lead from Yeremi Pino’s goal in the 20th minute.

But Madrid did create chances through Luka Modrić, Casemiro, and Karim Benzema at the end of the first half. Despite these chances, Villarreal managed to keep themselves ahead at halftime, setting up a final 45-minute showdown for the league title.

Madrid started the second half brightly and found the back of the net through Benzema’s header in the 55th minute, only for it to be ruled out after a lengthy VAR review.

It was in the last minutes when the game changed. The equalizer was scored by Benzema with and assist from Rodrygo in 87th minute. While Modric lead the second with an assist from Benzema in additional minutes. With the winner from Modric the game finished 2-1.

After the match results of matchday 38, Atletico Madrid were declare champions sitting at the top with 86 Points. It is truly a deserving performance for Atletico as they went to win their 11th league title.

Huesca, Valladolid and Eibar Relegated from La Liga

After the last matchday results, it was clear which three teams will be relegated for next season. Huesca, Valladolid, and Eibar are the three teams who will be demoted to Segunda Division for next season.

Real Valladolid lost their last match of this season to Atletico Madrid. They went to lose 2-1 against Atletico despite an early goal and better play. With this loss, they sit 19th at the table with 31 points. And now they will be relegated from La Liga for next season.

Eibar will also follow them after their loss against Barcelona in the last match. They were clearly the better team with more shots but only one late goal from Antonie Griezmann shattered their hopes.

Following this loss against Barcelona, they sit last at the table with only 30 points. They will also be relegated from La Liga next season.

Whereas Huesca also follow the two teams after their draw against Valencia. They are 18 at the table with 34 points to their name. They fell two point short from Elche to stay out of the relegation zone.

With these three-bottom teams relegated from La Liga for next season, new three teams will join the La Liga for next season to compete for Spain’s next league champions.

Do follow us on Twitter to get latest football news and updates.

To Top