Official: Durand Cup 2021 to commence on September 5


Durand Cup 2021 would be kicking off on 5th September and would be ending by October 3rd this year. Gokulam Kerala FC would be joined by Sudeva FC and Kolkata’s Mohammedan Sporting from the I-League.

Five Indian Super League teams such as FC Goa, Jamshedpur FC, Hyderabad FC, Bengaluru FC as well as Kerala Blasters would also be participating in the current edition. Whereas, I-League 2nd division teams like Delhi FC and FC Bengaluru United would be the other participants.

The other teams include Army Red, Army Green, Air Force, Indian Navy, CRPF and the Assam Rifles. However, the competition would be initially a group stage including four groups with four teams in each and then, the knockouts. For the first-ever time, ISL clubs would be participating in this celebrated tournament. East Bengal and Mohun Bagan are the record champions winning 16 titles each.

Durand Cup 2021 to be more exciting than ever!

16 teams would be taking part this year. Three venues have been determined – Vivekananda Yuva Bharati Krirangan (VYBK) and the Mohun Bagan Club Ground in Kolkata as well as the Kalyani Municipal Stadium Ground.

Additionally, there are three trophies, namely President’s Cup, Durand Cup and the Shimla Trophy. The first trophy mentioned is permanent whereas the latter two are the rolling ones.

Durand Cup is one of Asia’s oldest as well as the world’s third oldest competitions. Since its inception in 1888, the tournament has been attracting lots of football enthusiasts and many superstars have been successful after playing in this prestigious competition.

Sir Mortimer Durand, Foreign Secretary of British India from 1884 to 1894 was the founder. The 2019 edition saw Gokulam Kerala pip Kibu Vicuna-led Mohun Bagan by a scoreline of 2-1. However, this year, the Mariners won’t be playing in the competition as they are playing in AFC Cup.

Also, follow our Twitter page for the latest news on Durand Cup and Indian Football.

To Top