Thomas Dennerby – the new head coach of Indian Women’s team

Thomas Dennerby has been appointed as the new head coach of the Indian national women’s senior team. The 62-year-old Swedish gaffer would be heading them for the preparations for AFC Asia Cup in 2022.

AIFF has also announced the 30-member squad who will be now training under their new head coach. Dennerby will replace Maymol Rocky, who resigned from the head coach position recently. Maymol had been managing the senior team since 2017.

The Swedish coach would be taking charge immediately as per AIFF. Additionally, over the past years, he has been honoured with Swedish manager of the year in women’s football (2004) as well as getting nominated for Women’s coach of the year by the CAF in 2018.

Thomas Dennerby expecting a strong finish in the AFC Asia Cup 2022

Dennerby was earlier in charge of the U-17 women’s national football team for their preparation for the FIFA U-17 World Cup. However, he could now also contribute a lot to the senior team. India are now 13th in Asia and 57th in the world.

Women’s football has risen to greater heights in the past few years and superb performance in the Asia Cup would be a huge accomplishment. Dennerby has almost 30 years of coaching experience with different teams and has even helped the Swedish women’s team finished 3rd in the 2011 FIFA World Cup.

AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das said,

“With his vast experience, Thomas will bring in immense value addition to the women’s team. He is acquainted with India and we look forward together for him to improve our team technically, and competitively.”

After his assignment with the senior team, he will rejoin the U-17 squad in February 2022 for their preparation. Till then, their assistant coach Alex Ambrose would be keeping eyes on them.

In addition to this, the preparations and training camps begin as soon as 16th August in Jharkhand as per the Indian football team’s social media. India will host the 2022 edition beginning on 20th January and ending on 6th February. Japan are the defending champions.

Also, follow our Twitter page for the latest news on Indian Super League and Indian Football.

For more football updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top
error: Content is protected !!