Cristiano Ronaldo still has an edge over Lionel Messi

Keylor Navas

Despite Lionel Messi’s World Cup victory, Cristiano Ronaldo still holds the Golden Foot trophy, which the Argentinian has yet to obtain. In a friendly between a Saudi Pro League XI and PSG, the two football legends could face off again. 

This award recognizes a player’s athletic achievements and his/her personality throughout the year. In 2003, the trophy winner left a permanent mold of their feet on ‘The Champions Promenade’ on the Monaco seafront. 

Players must be 28 years or older and still playing football in order to qualify for the trophy. During the shortlisting process, ten nominees are chosen by a panel of international journalists before the public votes for the winners. Each nominee can only pick up the trophy once. 

The Golden Foot award winners

As a result of his performance over the course of 2020, Cristiano Ronaldo won the award. Former holders include Luka Modric, Andres Iniesta, and Zlatan Ibrahimovic, as well as Barcelona striker Robert Lewandowski.  

Each year over the age of 28, the Golden Foot award is given to the best player in the world. A panel of international journalists selects the winner, who picks a winner from only 10 nominees. Robert Lewandowski won the 2022 Golden Foot ceremony in Monaco on Wednesday evening. He has joined a list of legendary names that have won the award in the past 20 years.

Lionel Messi shall wait to win the Golden Foot trophy and will continue for at least one more year after missing out in 2022.

Follow us on Twitter for more updates.

To Top