Borussia Verein fur Leibesubungen 1900 e. V. Monchengladbach is a professional football club based in Monchengladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. Meanwhile, the club is commonly known as Borussia Monchengladbach, Monchengladbach, or Gladbach. Meanwhile, fans abbreviate it as Borussia MG, BMG. The club plays in the Bundesliga, the top flight of German football. The club has won five League titles, three DFB-Pokals, and two UEFA Europa League titles.


Borussia Monchengladbach was founded in 1900. Its name is derived from a Latinized form of Prussia. Meanwhile, it was a popular name for German clubs in the former Kingdom of Prussia.

The team joined the Bundesliga in 1965. It saw the majority of its success in the 1970s. Under the guidance of Hennes Weisweiler and then Udo Lattek, they captured five league championships with Die Fohlen. Meanwhile, Die Fohlen(The foals) team is a term coined as the squad was young with a fast, aggressive playing style Mönchengladbach. They also won two UEFA Cup titles during this period. Moreover, they reached a European Cup final in 1977.

Stadium and fanbase

Since 2004, Borussia Monchengladbach has played at Borussia Park. They previously played at the Bokelbergstadion in 1919. Based on membership, Borussia Mönchengladbach is the fifth-largest club in Germany. They have over 75,000 members in 2016, and 93,000 members as of 2021.

The club’s main rivals are 1. FC Köln. They contest the Rheinland Derby against each other. Their secondary rivals include Borussia Dortmund, Fortuna Düsseldorf, and Bayer Leverkusen.

More Posts
To Top