RasenBallsport Leipzig e.V., is a German professional football club based in Leipzig, Saxony. The club is commonly known as RB Leipzig and colloquially referred to as Red Bull Leipzig. Meanwhile, the club plays Bundesliga. It is the top-flight league in Germany.


In its inaugural season in 2009–10, RB Leipzig dominated the NOFV-Oberliga Sud (V). Meanwhile, the club was promoted as champions to the Regionalliga Nord (IV). RB Leipzig won the 2012–13 Regionalliga Nordost season without a single defeat. As a result, the club was promoted to the 3. Liga (III), then finished 2013–14 3. Liga season as runners-up and was promoted to the 2. Bundesliga (II) as the first team since the introduction of the 3. Liga is to win promotion after only one season. On 12 May 2016, RB Leipzig ensured promotion to the Bundesliga for the 2016–17 season with a 2–0 win over Karlsruher SC.


Meanwhile, the club was founded in 2009 by the initiative of the company Red Bull GmbH. They purchased the playing rights of fifth-tier side SSV Markranstadt. Moreover, their intent was of advancing the new club to the top-flight Bundesliga within eight years. The men’s professional football club is run by the spin-off organization RasenBallsport Leipzig GmbH.


RB Leipzig earned a place in the UEFA Champions League for the first time by finishing as runners-up in the 2016–17 Bundesliga. They reached the semi-finals of the 2019–20 UEFA Champions League. However, they lost to Paris Saint-Germain of France. On 21 May 2022, they won their first major title, the DFB-Pokal, against SC Freiburg.


RB Leipzig played its inaugural season in 2009–10 at the Stadion am Bad in Markranstadt. However, now the club plays its home matches at the Red Bull Arena. The club’s nickname is Die Roten Bullen (English: The Red Bulls).

More Posts
To Top