Five-star Sethu Madurai maintains its pristine record; five-goal Odisha falls apart The FA of Lord’s


Sethu Madurai FC still leads

Sethu Madurai FC kept their perfect record in the Hero Indian Women’s League 2022-23, defeating Central Reserve Police Force Football Club 5-0 on Sunday, May 7, 2023, at the Shahibaug Police Stadium. The victory keeps Sethu at the top of the standings. So far in the Hero IWL season, the team has only surrendered two goals.

The game was tied at halftime, with Sethu Madurai FC leading by one goal thanks to Kajol Dsouza’s opening in the 41st minute. Dsouza’s goal was his eighth of the season, the most by any Indian player.

Sethu Madurai , on the other hand, came out firing in the second half, scoring just two minutes of the restart through their Kenyan attacker Dorcas Sikobe. Purnima Kumari added to the tally four minutes later, making it three.

Sethu’s replacements, Ivy Faith Atieno and Kiran Pisda, scored in the last minutes of the game to cap off a strong effort for the Madurai club. Muskan Subba, a teenage midfielder for Sethu Madurai FC, was named Player of the Match.

Odisha scored five goals against Lords FA Kochi

Odisha FC easily defeated Hero IWL debutant Lords FA Kochi in their group B match at the Shahibaug Police Stadium. Faustina Worwornyo Akpo’s brace, as well as goals from Cynthia Marcondes Dos Santos, Malati Munda, and Anju Tamang, were enough to earn them a decisive win and place them second in the group.

Jasoda Munda of Odisha FC was a persistent danger down the left wing for the entirety of the game and was instrumental in the buildup to Odisha’s first goal in the 41st minute. Munda dribbled by her defender before cutting inside and hitting the back of the net with a thunderous shot. The rebound landed for Brazilian midfielder Cynthia Marcondes Dos Santos, who headed the ball towards goal when Lords FA custodian Afshan Ashiq failed to receive cleanly. Despite the fact that Ashiq was present and collected the ball cleanly this time, the referee gave the goal after seeing the ball cross the line. To make matters worse, Odisha quickly doubled their advantage, with Ashiq right in the middle of it.

Read More :- Gokulam Kerala thrashes Kahaani FC in a record-breaking Hero IWL victory

Lynda Kom’s powerful freekick from distance was palmed away by the custodian. Only for the ball to rebound against the post and into the path of Bala Devi. Bala gathered quietly and crossed to the far post, Faustina hitting into an empty net to increase their advantage. In the 63rd minute, the Ghanaian added a second goal to her score. The goal nearly identical to the first, Ashiq again receiving the header on goal, but behind the line.

Bala’s second assist of the game came in the 86th minute, when she played Malati Munda through with a well placed pass. Malati made no mistake, scoring at the near post. The Odisha FC captain provided her third assist in the 89th minute, when she sent through Anju Tamang, who was clean on goal. Odisha earned a fifth and three points on Tamang’s first time toe-poke. For her dominant performance, Bala Devi was named Player of the Match.

Kickstart FC maintains its winning streak

Kickstart FC defeated Celtic Queens FC 5-0 in their IWL Group B match at TransStadia. Kickstart’s triumph was enhanced by the fact that the side from Karnataka had five different goal scorers in the game — Kioko Elizabeth Katungwa, Saru Limbu, Devneta Roy, Laishram Bibicha Devi, and Renuka Nagarkote — assisting the club to its fourth win in five games.

Kickstart took the lead in the 33rd minute via Katungwa. Devneta Roy scored again two minutes later. Kickstart led 3-0 at the interval after to a third goal by Laishram Bibicha Devi in the 43rd minute. Moreover, Saru Limbu and Renuka Nagarkote scored two more goals to complete an overwhelming win. Astam Oraon, a defender for Kickstart FC, was named Player of the Match.

Eastern Sporting Union comes from behind to defeat Churchill Brothers FC

ESU rallied from a goal down to defeat Churchill Brothers FC 4-1 in Group B at the TransStadia. Eastern Sporting Union moved up to fourth place in Group B with the win.

To everyone’s astonishment, Churchill Brothers grabbed the lead in the 17th minute of the match. Saniya’s superbly weighted cross was met by Alisha Tavares, who lobbed Elangbam Panthoi Chanu. It was their first time doing so this season.

Eastern Sporting Union had to wait until the 43rd minute of the game to equalise.

Yumnam Kamala Devi scored one of the tournament’s goals with a superb left-footed strike from 35 yards. However, Churchill custodian Prithi Shrikant Kesarkar only a spectator as the ball soared into goal.

Salam Rinaroy Devi scored in first-half injury time to give Eastern Sporting Union a halftime lead. Rinaroy dribbled by two Churchill defenders before firing straight at custodian Kesarkar. The ball was spilled into her own net by the goalie. To make matters worse, Lhingneilam Kipgen volleyed home a corner to make it 3-1 just after Easter Sporting increased their lead. Eastern Sporting Union’s fourth goal, scored by Irom Prameshwori Devi in the 66th minute, clinched the win. Yumnam Kamala Devi was named the match’s MVP.

Follow our Twitter Handle for more updates.

For more football updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top
error: Content is protected !!