East Bengal Women won the first-ever IFA Women’s Shield championship

The main women’s football cup tournament was introduced in the 2023 IFA Women’s Shield, which was run by the Indian Football Association in West Bengal. The competition was played between May 25 and June 2 and featured a total of six teams.

After an unbelievable campaign in which East Bengal maintained a spotless record throughout all four games, the team has been named the winner of the inaugural IFA Women’s Shield.

East Bengal got off to a strong start in their IFA Women’s Shield 2023 campaign by defeating Nadia DSA and Chandney SC by scores of 8-0 and 11-0 in both of their group games. East Bengal finished first in their group thanks to these outstanding victories in their two group games. They then defeated West Bengal Police in the semifinals. On Friday, June 2, the final was played between East Bengal and Sreebhumi.

Read More :- The Indian Football Team and other FC’s expressed their sympathies following the Odisha Train Mishap

East Bengal Women won IFA Shield

The East Bengal women’s team defeated Sribhumi FC 5-0. In the championship game at the Tehatta Ground Thursday evening to win the first-ever IFA Women’s Shield trophy. After winning the Kanyashree Cup, which is also known as the Calcutta Women’s Football League. They have now won two championships this year.

Due to goals from midfielder Barnali Karar (18′) and striker Tulsi Hembram (13′), the Red & Golds led 2-0 at the interval.

Tulsi completed her third hat-trick in four games by scoring the final three goals in the second half (47′, 77′, and 82′).

In the competition, EB Women scored 27 goals while without giving up a single goal. Following their triumph in the Calcutta Women’s Football League (also known as the Kanyashree Cup) in January. East Bengal now has two championship victories under its belt this year. The Indian Women’s League, which just ended, saw it advance to the quarterfinals.

With 15 goals, Tulsi, a native of Jungle Mahals, is the competition’s top scorer. She was also named the tournament’s Player of the Year.

Follow our Twitter Handle for more updates.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top