The AIFF League Committee has decided on the format of the I-League 2023-24


On Friday, August 11, 2023, the I-League Committee of the All India Football Federation convened by video conference.

Deputy Chairperson Mr. Santanu Pujari, Committee Members Mr. Amit Chaudhuri, Dr. Kiran Chowgule, Mr. Arif Ali, Mr. Caitanno Jose Fernandes, Mr. KI Nizamuddin, Dr. Reginold Varghese, and Mr. Anirban Dutta also attend the meeting, which was presid over by Mr. Lalnghinglova Hmar. At the meeting were AIFF Deputy Secretary General Mr Satyanarayan and Secretary General Dr. Shaji Prabhakaran.

Dr. Prabhakaran addressed the group and stated, “Today is a very crucial day as several choices that will determine the structure of our league are being made. A growing number of teams are emerging to compete in both the third tier and the I-League.

“We are all committed to arriving at the best decisions to make the league structure competitive. That would encourage clubs to aspire to rise from the district level to the national level, and help in the overall improvement of Indian football,” Dr Prabhakaran added.

With 13 participating teams, the I-League 2023–24 will be run on a home-and-away double round-robin format for a total of 156 matches in the season (subject to the completion of the Club Licencing procedure). Moreover 24 games will be played by each team. The club that tops the standings at the league’s conclusion will be crowned the I-League 2023–24 champions, and if they meet the requirements for club licencing, they will be eligible for promotion to the Indian Super League 2024–25.

Format of I-League 2023-24

Read More :- Durand Cup Group Analysis:- Group F

Punjab FC, the ISL champion from last year, has already been promoted. Delhi FC and Shillong Lajong FC, the top two teams from the 2022–23 Second Division League. Have taken the position of Mumbai Kenkre FC and Sudeva Delhi FC. The two demoted teams from the 2022–23 I–League season. Inter Kashi and Namdhari FC have been accept as corporate entry into the I-League.

The committee’s chairman, Mr. Hmar, stated, “Earlier, we lacked a properly tier-structured league. However, a robust league system has been establish amongst the ISL, the I-League, Second Division, and Third Division.

The committee reaffirmed that for the I-League 2023–24. Teams can register up to five international players in their rosters, with a maximum of three permitted on the pitch at once. There won’t be any AFC player quota demands anymore.

Nine state FAs moreover met the requirements for nominating teams for the newly established 3rd Division League. They are Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Maharashtra.

Follow our Twitter Handle for more updates.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top