Bayern Munich win their 9th consecutive Bundesliga title

About Football Express India - Indian Super League - I-League

The German kings have done it again! Bayern Munich have won their 9th consecutive Bundesliga title. Better still, it was their arch-rival Borussia Dortmund’s 3-2 win over RB Leipzig that gave them the title. Bayern were crowned champions before their game against Borussia Monchengladbach whom they battered 6-0.

Bayern achieved the feat with 3 games left. They currently have 74 points, an unreachable 10 points from second-placed RB Leipzig. Jadon Sancho slotted the winner into an empty net in the 87th minute to send Bavaria into wild celebrations. A bitter-sweet moment for Dortmund.

This is Hansi Flick’s 7th title as manager in his 18-month spell. After being the only manager after Pep Guardiola to win a sextuple, the trophy-magnet has pocketed a second Bundesliga title to his cabinet.

Bayern looking at a new Era

Bayern Munich could have nailed the crown 2 weeks earlier, but they went on to lose 2-1 at Mainz. Following the defeat, Leipzig defeated Stuttgard to keep their title hopes alive. It was Dortmund that dashed their title hopes while handing their arch-rivals their 30th Bundesliga title.

With David Alaba, Jerome Boateng and Javi Martinez set to leave Allianz Arena at the end of the season, it will be the end of an Era. The trio were a part of both the treble winning campaigns(2012&2020). Hansi Flick, who announced his decision to step down at the end of this season, will be replaced Julian Nagelsmann. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, the Chief Executive officer, will be stepping down after 30 years .

Bayern Munich break records for breakfast

No other team in the past including Bayern Munich themselves have won more than 3 in a row making their 9-title streak, the longest run. It will not be a Treble season though. Bayern are out of the Champions League as well as the DFB Pokal.

Robert Lewandowski bagged a hattrick yesterday to take his tally to 39 goals for this season. He is only one shy of Gerd Müller’s record of 40.

With their 9th title, they share with Juventus the record of the longest title-winning run in Europe’s top 5 leagues. The Old Lady’s run was craftly stopped by Inter Milan coached by Antonio Conte, the manager who started their title run. The all-time European record lies at 14 and this Bayern squad does not seem to have any plans to slow down. Dortmund, please continue your duty of diligently handing Bayern the title for years to come.

Do follow us on Twitter to get latest football news and updates.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top