Real Madrid trailed Barcelona by six points of VAR judgments

About Football Express India - Indian Super League - I-League

Real Madrid is one of the most successful and storied football clubs in history. With a record 13 UEFA Champions League titles and 34 La Liga titles, they have been a dominant force in Spanish and European football for decades. However, the 2022-2023 season has presented a new challenge for the club. Real Madrid trailed at a six-point deficit to their arch-rivals Barcelona, in large part due to VAR decisions.

VAR, or Video Assistant Referee, is a relatively new technology that has been introduce to football in recent years. Its purpose is to assist the on-field referee in making decisions by providing additional angles and replays of controversial moments in the match. While VAR has undoubtedly helped to improve the accuracy of decisions in football, it has also been a source of controversy and frustration for many fans and teams.

Read More: Declan Rice is believed to be Arsenal’s top target this summer

Real Madrid’s six-point deficit to Barcelona can be trace back to several key VAR decisions that have gone against them this season. In a crucial match against Barcelona in November 2022. Real Madrid thought they had taken the lead through a Karim Benzema goal. However, VAR intervened and ruled that Benzema was offside in the build-up to the goal. Despite replays showing that the decision was extremely tight.

When Real Madrid trailed about this what did they say?

In another match against Athletic Bilbao in December, Real Madrid had a goal disallowed due to a controversial handball decision. The ball had struck the arm of Real Madrid defender Nacho. But it appeared to be unintentional and did not give him any advantage in the play. Nevertheless, the VAR official ruled that it was a handball, and the goal was disallow.

Perhaps the most contentious VAR decision of the season came in a match against Valencia in January. With the score tied at 1-1 in the second half, Real Madrid were award a penalty. After Valencia defender Gabriel Paulista was judge to have handled the ball in the penalty area. However, replays showed that the ball had actually struck. Paulista’s chest before hitting his arm, and the decision to award a penalty was widely criticize by fans and pundits alike. Real Madrid went on to win the match 2-1, but the controversy surrounding the decision overshadowed the result.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top