ACF Fiorentina is commonly referred to as Fiorentina. It is an Italian professional football club based in Florence, Tuscany, Italy.


A merger found the original team in August 1926. Fiorentina has played at the top level of Italian football for most of their existence. Meanwhile, only four clubs have played in more Serie A seasons.


Fiorentina won two Italian Championships, in 1955–56 and again in 1968–69. Moreover, they have six Coppa Italia trophies and one Supercoppa Italiana. On the European stage, Fiorentina won the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1960–61. However, they lost the final one year later. They finished runners-up in the 1956–57 European Cup, losing against Real Madrid. Meanwhile, they also came close to winning the 1989–90 UEFA Cup. However, they finished as runners-up against Juventus after losing the first leg in Turin. Meanwhile, they drew in the second one in Avellino.

Fiorentina is one of the fifteen European teams that played the finals in all three major continental competitions: the Champions League (1956–1957, the first Italian team to reach the final in the top continental competition), the UEFA Cup Winners (1960–1961 and 1961–1962) and the UEFA Cup (1989–1990).

Stadium and fanbase

Since 1931, the club has played at the Stadio Artemio Franchi. The stadium currently has a capacity of 43,147. The stadium has used several names over the years and has undergone several renovations. Fiorentina is known widely by the nickname Viola, a reference to their distinctive purple colors.

More Posts
To Top