Sevilla Football Club is a Spanish professional football club based in Seville. It is the capital and largest city of the autonomous community of Andalusia, Spain. Meanwhile, it plays in Spanish football’s top flight, La Liga.


Sevilla has won the UEFA Europa League six times. It is the most of any club. Moreover, it is Spain’s oldest sporting club solely devoted to football.

Meanwhile, Edward Farquharson Johnston founded the club on 25 January 1890. Moreover, he was their first president. On 14 October 1905, the club’s articles of association were registered in the Civil Government of Seville. Meanwhile, it was under the presidency of the Jerez-born Jose Luis Gallegos Arnosa.

Rivalry and accomplishments

Sevilla FC has a long-standing rivalry with cross-city rivals Real Betis. It is also the most successful football club in Andalusia in terms of titles. The club has eighteen Andalusian Cups, and one national league title from 1945–46. Meanwhile, it has five Spanish Cup titles (1935, 1939, 1948, 2007, and 2010), one Spanish Super Cup (2007), a record six UEFA Cups/UEFA Europa Leagues (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2020) and one UEFA Super Cup (2006).

International Federation of Football History & Statistics designated the club as the World’s best club in 2006 and 2007, thus being the first club to achieve this distinction in two consecutive years.

Stadium and supporters

The club’s home ground is the 43,883-seat Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Stadium. It is located in the neighborhood of Nervion, Seville, and is named after the late Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan, who was the president of Sevilla FC for a total of 17 years.

The youth team Sevilla Atletico, founded in 1958, currently plays in Primera Division RFEF. Other clubs related to Sevilla FC include their women’s team. The rowing team that defends its crest in the yearly Sevilla-Betis boat race is not a section of the club but a call-up of registered-as-supporters professional rowers from the various rowing clubs of Seville.

More Posts
To Top