13 team I-league to be held in Kolkata and will commence mid-December

About Football Express India - Indian Super League - I-League

This year I-League will be held in Kolkata in mid-December with the same format as last year. There will be as many as 13 teams participating this year.

“The format of the League will be the same as the last edition with all teams playing each other once, and then divided into two groups,”-AIFF.

How will the league unfold?

“While the top half vying for the Championship will comprise seven teams, the bottom half, which will be battling it out for relegation, will have six teams. The number of matches will also be higher this edition a rise from 80 to 114,” -AIFF

Regardless of the current scenario, the relegation rule will be enforced to the I-League in 2021/22. The number of matches is expected to be more this time.

In September, ten teams will compete in the I-League qualifiers in Bengaluru. The state association will select 2 teams by the League department based on sporting merit, and the club licensing criteria. 

All the players, staff and officials are asked to get fully vaccinated.

Gokulam Kerela lifted the trophy last year by beating TRAU FC. They had 29 points from 15 matches. They won 9 matches, drew 2, and lost 4 matches. Their win was beneficial for them as they secured a spot in AFC.

After a lengthy conversation with the Odisha government, IWL, which was postponed due to the second wave of the epidemic, will resume soon.

Do follow us on Twitter to get latest news and updates on Indian Football.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top