FC Goa name squad for ISL 2021/22

About Football Express India - Indian Super League - I-League

FC Goa have named their squad for the Indian Super League (ISL) 2021/22 season. The 28-man team includes 11 domestic Goan players donning the FC Goa kit for the upcoming season. Juan Ferrando takes the reins for a second successive time, after steering the Gaurs to the semis last term.

An eloquent news release seemed archaic. Instead, FC Goa revealed the #AmcheGaurs squad for #MissionISL in their unique style showcasing their biggest assets – their fans.

The Media Team for FC Goa Media traversed almost 300 kms. They moved across North and South Goa to shoot at a couple of the state’s most iconic locations. Filming carried on for over 18 hours spanning 3 days.

The video presents fans throughout the state, other Indian cities and abroad. Alongside passionate fans, the video includes former players as well, legends of Goan football.

The video has gone on to become the club’s most-watched on Twitter and Instagram within 12 hours of its release. It can now be shared on FC Goa’s Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube accounts and continues to grow.

FC Goa reinforce with new additions

With the new season comes an augment in the rules. ISL 2021/22 will see a larger number of Indian players in the starting XI. Each club must now have a minimum of 7 Indian players on field at any point in time.

Given the changes, teams are permitted to sign a maximum of 6 foreigners, 1 of which must be from an AFC member nation. Each team must now sign 4 development players, previously 2. Out of the 4, it is mandatory for 2 players to be in the match-day squad.

3 players have a received a call-up from the FC Goa Developmental Team to the first team. Lalmangaihsanga (Papuia), Hrithik Tiwari and Christy Davis complete the trio.

2 players with previous ISL experience join the FC Goa squad. Dylan Fox and Nongdomba Naorem come in after time at Northeast United and Kerala Blaster respectively.

Muhammad Nemil and Airam Cabrera will make their bows in the ISL. Meanwhile, Danstan Fernandes makes his move from Dempo SC.

28-man FC Goa squad for ISL 2021/22

Goalkeepers: Naveen Kumar, Hrithik Tiwari, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem

Defenders: Leander D’Cunha, Saviour Gama, Sanson Pereira, Dylan Fox, Lalmangaihsanga (Papuia), Seriton Fernandes, Ivan Gonzalez, Aibanbha Dohling, Mohamed Ali

Midfielders: Edu Bedia (c), Muhammed Nemil, Alberto Noguera, Princeton Rebello, Danstan Fernandes, Alexander Romario Jesuraj, Redeem Tlang, Nongdamba Naorem, Glan Martins, Brandon Fernandes, Makan Winkle Chote, Christy Davis, Flan Gomes

Forwards: Devendra Murgaonkar, Jorge Ortiz, Airam Cabrera

Follow our Twitter for regular football news and updates.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn & Youtube.

To Top