Indian Women’s League postponed, due to the spike in COVID cases

About Football Express India - Indian Super League - I-League

Indian Women’s League, scheduled in Odisha later this month, is postponed indefinitely by AIFF. Reason is the spike in COVID cases happening all over the Country, and for the safety of the citizens.

All India Football Federation(AIFF) said looking at the current situation they have to postpone the tournament for now. AIFF has said some decision would be taken regarding the tournament’s fate, earlier AIFF said that the league might kick off in May. Which now seems highly doubtable.

“The Hero Indian Women’s League scheduled to be held in Odisha later this month have been postponed until further notice,”. the AIFF said in a release. AIFF further said the decision has been made after a meeting with Odisha sports over the rising cases of COVID.

AIFF, Odisha sports, and the participating teams would be taking stock of the situation until the health parameters improve. The decision has been taken by keeping the safety of teams, officials, and citizens in mind.

The development came just after three days when AIFF announced the postponement of the fixtures from the same tournament. The play-off matches were earlier scheduled to be played in the national capital from Wednesday. Covid cases in Odisha have been on rise with 500 cases on Monday and Tuesday. The state reported 588 new cases because of which AIFF had to postpone the league.

As disappointing as it gets, but fans can only wait because COVID is something that has to be taken more seriously and the decision taken by AIFF looks sensible after seeing the current situation of the Country. India has reported 93,249 COVID cases since Saturday, the highest daily rise since the middle of September last year.

Here is the list of the teams which have won the league title, from different states.

Rani Laxmi Bai Sports Academy, Bihar: However due to lack of funds Shirsh Bihar United made it to the play-offs. Shirsh Bihar was fourth in a 5 team league.

Sirvodem FC, Goa: Initially AIFF intimated GFA that the winner of their should play in the Indian Women’s League. But later GFA convinced AIFF and got Sirvodem FC the spot.

Kingstar Academy, Gujarat: Kingstar defeated Patan FC to make it to the IWL. The league had two groups consisted of total 9 teams. The four teams out of them made it to the Super League stage where Kingstar and Patan FC faced each other and ultimately Kingstar academy came victorious.

Techtro Swades United FC, Himachal Pradesh: Techtro won their league and made it to the play-offs of IWL.

Kickstart Women’s FC, Karnataka: Kickstart won the league after ending up with 3 points ore than Maatru Prathistana FC.

Barwani FC, Madhya Pradesh: Barwani FC won the league and made it to the play-offs, Atal FC got disqualified so the league only consisted of 5 teams.

Eastern Sprting Union, Manipur: Sporting union won the Manipur Women’s Cup after ending up with 5 points more than the second placed team.

Rising Student’s Club: It was 6 team league, Rising Student’s Club defeated East Coast Railway in goal difference.

Indira Gandhi Academy of Sports and Education, Pondicherry: They won the 6 team league having 11 points more than the second placed Jeppiaar Institute of Technology. However, due to internal issues and the fear of COVID 19. Indra Gandhi Academy pulled their name out of the league.

Sethu FC, Tamil Nadu: Sethu FC won the league and made t to the play-offs.

Do follow us on Twitter to get latest news and Updates from the Indian football.

To Top