FC Bengaluru United is one of the newest football clubs in India, having been founded in 2018. Despite its short history, the club has already made a name for itself, both on and off the pitch.


JSW Group founded FC Bengaluru United. This group is one of the largest conglomerates in India. The club’s aim was to create a pathway for young footballers in the region. Moreover, it also provides a platform for talented players to showcase their skills at the highest level. In its debut season, FC Bengaluru United competed in the I-League 2nd Division. Moreover, they finished as runners-up, narrowly missing out on promotion to the I-League.


FC Bengaluru United has yet to win a major trophy. However, the club has consistently performed well in the I-League and the Durand Cup. In the 2021-22 season, the club finished in fourth place in the I-League. Moreover, they also reached the semifinals of the Durand Cup, where they were beaten by eventual champions Gokulam Kerala FC.


As a relatively new club, FC Bengaluru United’s revenues are not as high as some of the more established teams in India. However, the club has the backing of the JSW Group, which is one of the wealthiest corporations in the country. This has enabled the club to invest in state-of-the-art facilities. It has also helped to attract talented players and coaches from around the world.


FC Bengaluru United has yet to develop any major rivalries. However, the club’s matches against other teams from the city of Bengaluru are always keenly contested. In recent years, the club has also developed a healthy rivalry with Gokulam Kerala FC, who knocked them out of the Durand Cup in the semifinals in 2021.


FC Bengaluru United may be a new club, but it is already making waves in Indian football. With the backing of the JSW Group and a talented squad of players and coaches, the club is well-positioned to challenge for major honors in the years to come. As the club continues to grow and develop, it will be interesting to see how it fares against some of the more established teams in Indian football.

More Posts
To Top